Christmas always means Turkey for my family. A big turkey. Which means there is always a lot of leftovers. I'm not the biggest fan of eating leftover roast turkey for an entire week. It works for some people, but not for me. I'd much rather turn the leftovers into something else. Turkey pie, or even better, turkey soup.  I LOVE homemade soup, especially turkey soup. The post-Christmas turkey soup may even be better than the main event for me.

Usually it's my grandfather that makes the soup, but this year I scored the coveted carcass. The bones went into the pot with carrots, celery, onion, bay leaves and pepper corns and simmered for a good 4 hours to get a nice rich stock. Since this made a lot of stock, I made 2 different batched of soup. Here's what materialized this afternoon:

Turkey Noodle Soup

Picture
The classic turkey soup, and always a favourite. I don't really measure when I make soup, but here's an estimated recipe.

* 8 cups homemade turkey stock and bits of leftover turkey
* 2 stalks of celery, diced

* 2 carrots, coarsely chopped

* 1 onion, diced

* 2 cloves of garlic, minced

* 1/2 cup corn kernels

* 1 to 1 1/2 tsp herbs de provence

* 2 to 2 1/2 cups broad egg noodles

* salt and pepper to taste

Add fresh veggies and herbs to the stock and bring to a boil. Add the corn and bring back to a boil; simmer for 10-15 minutes.

Add the noodles, salt and pepper and simmer for 20 minutes or until done.

Turkey Soup with Kale & Quinoa

Picture
Originally I was thinking of doing a turkey and wild rice soup, but I had kale in the fridge and a sprouted rice and quinoa blend in the cupboard. Voila, a new soup, that just may become a go-to recipe.

* 6 cups turkey stock with leftover turkey bits

* 1 onion, diced

* 2 carrots, diced

* 2 cloves garlic, minced

* small bunch of kale, deveined and ripped into bit size pieces

* 1 to 1 1/2 cups sprouted rice and quinoa blend (I had Tru Roots from Costco - I soak and rinse this blend to avoid any soapy quinoa taste)

* 1 to 1 1/2 tsp Italian seasoning

* pinch of cumin

* salt and pepper to taste

Add the fresh veggies to the stock and bring to a boil. Add the rice blend and seasonings. Simmer for 30-40 minutes.




Leave a Reply.