I have friends that live for Hallowe'en and friends that detest the day. I'm usually somewhere in the middle. I love any chance to dress up and I love the chocolate. I also love any excuse for baking themed treats. I'm not big on being scared, and I really don't appreciate how some people use it as an excuse for bad/annoying/dangerous behaviour.

This Hallowe'en was filled with firsts for us. First Hallowe'en in our townhouse. First with a dog. And first with a baby. Needless to say, I was looking forward to it more than usual.

In order to get into the festive spirit, I learned how to make a simple, quilted table runner. We put up a few decorations and got ourselves ready for a family dinner and hours of answering the door handing out the 300+ pieces of candy we'd stocked up on. The family brought dinner over and I made pumpkin and ghost shaped biscuits. As we ate we answered the door to a total of 13 kids. A bit of a let down. Yes, it was raining, but seriously, where were all the kids? Our complex should be a Hallowe'en goldmine - only 5 steps between doors!

The rest of the evening was spent admiring babe in his Yoda costume - touque thanks to a talented Auntie and robe supplied by Baba.

More on how the candy will be used up to come...



Leave a Reply.