As soon as Hallowe'en is over there is talk about what to do with all the candy. I've heard everything from thow it out after a week to donate it to the food bank. Growing up I knew this stash had to last through to Easter so I always rationed my treats very carefully. I'm not into wasting food. And it someone spent money on it, and I'm far too, let's say thrifty, to throw it out. 

This year we saw 13 trick-or-treaters and had 3 large boxes of candy = lots of leftovers! Rather than just eating them all myself, and I've had my fair share, they are going to be mixed into some of my favourite baked treats. This way it doesn't get wasted and I don't have to buy choclate for baking for the forseeable future.

So far I've made, and eaten, chewy cookie bars with Reese's Pieces. Sorry, no photo. They didn't last long enough. They were really good.
Other plans include: peanut butter cup brownies, coffee crisp cookies, and smartie cookies or cookie bars. Basically, anything that is chocolate is going to be used up like chocolate chips!
Here's my super easy Cookie Bar recipe. I often use a combination of chocolate and dried cranberries or nuts, and have been mixing it up using leftover candy instead of chocolate chips.

Chewy Cookie Bars
1/4 cup butter at room temp
1 cup packed golden brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup chocolate chips (really who measures the chocolate chips?!)

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease an 8 x 8 pan.
Cream butter and sugar. Beat in egg and vanilla.
Stir in dry ingredients.
Stir in chocolate chips. Spread into pan.
Bake for 25-30 min.



Leave a Reply.