Picture
I'm not really one for New Year's resolutions. I prefer to set goals throughout the year as they come to me. In November I signed up to complete a 22 km military inspired obsticle course in June. Maybe a bit crazy, but I want my babe to grow up knowing that his mom likes to have fun, try new things and stay active.

This got me thinking about really making a concerted effort to go out and do the things that I enjoy with the people I enjoy. This past month I hit the 6-month-wall of being on mat leave, combined with lovely Vancouver January weather, I was getting an itch to be more social; spending the weekends cleaning and walking the dog just weren't cutting it.

Dine Out Vancouver is currently on, and has been a staple activity for us over the past years. Combine living in the suburbs with a baby and it's a little more difficult to pop out for a nice dinner Downtown. Fortunately this year there was a daytime food truck event. Since we missed the summer food truck festivals we decided to take advantage of a large number of food trucks in one place as well as the opportunity to catch up with our friends that live out that way. Despite the rain, headed out, stroller and all for a day of food and fun with some friends.

Picture
We tried out three different dishes from three different food trucks:
risotto balls from Street
Meet
(fantastic!!), hungry man perogies from Holy Perogy (beef jerky on the perogies, um, YES!) and a bacon and havarti grilled cheese from Mom's Grilled Cheese (totally worth the long line up). It was all delicious, and the carbs, cheese and bacon were exactly what we needed considering the wedding we'd attended the night before. Can't wait for the next food truck festival!




Leave a Reply.