Picture
I love, I mean LOVE fruit. Monkey seems to be taking after me in that regard. He's nuts about almost every fruit we've given him. Right now, he's really enjoying blueberries, blackberries and peaches. He even taught himself how to pick blueberries.

With all the local fruit available, I've been stocking up the freezer with fruit, making pies and jam. I like to try out new recipes, or adapt ones that I have so that I can use what's on hand, or just change things up a bit.

I made a Blueberry Peach Loaf, which was a huge hit with the little man, as well as Blackberry & Strawberry Jam. I love blackberries, but Hubby doesn't really branch out beyond apples, bananas and strawberries, so straight up blackberry jam is pushing it.

For the jam, I simply followed the recipe in the liquid Certo box for Strawberry jam, but substituted half of the strawberries for blackberries. The result: super yummy jam that Hubby will eat!

As for the Blueberry Peach Loaf, the recipe called for sour cream, I only had some plain yogurt in the fridge, so that's what I used. I also have a tendency to substitute half the AP flour with whole wheat pastry flour in most of my baking, unless it's a cake! I love using the whole wheat pastry flour because it's ground so fine that it doesn't effect the texture of the final product. It's great for pies, pizza dough, even cookies!

Blueberry Peach Loaf (my adapted version)

1 cup AP flour
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1 peach, peeled and diced
1 cup (approx.) blueberries - let's be real though, I dumped about 3 handfuls in, so it was probably more like 1 1/2 cups

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease or line a loaf pan.

Cream together butter and sugar. Add in eggs, vanilla and yogurt.

Combine flours, baking powder and salt in a small bowl. (Or if you're me, just throw them all into the cream mixture; who wants to wash more dishes!).

Gently stir together, about 7-8 strokes. Add fruit, and continue to gently stir until everything is just moistened. DON'T OVER-MIX! If you mix too much, you will get tunnels and your loaf will be tough. I could go into a whole thing about building up too much gluten, but I won't. Just don't over-mix and you'll be fine.

Bake for 1 hour 15 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool. Enjoy!



Leave a Reply.